Facebook Cons: go with the Disconnect

Facebook Disconnect is a Chrome extension by Brian Kennish which stops Fb from tracking the pages you visit.

As a reaction to Instant personalization and some related issues, Disconnect stops any Connect functionality and all traffic from third party sites to Facebook servers.

You can always solve the problem at source by deleting your Fb account – but if you don’t want to, Disconnect may be a compromise solution.

Here’s the description on the extension page:

Facebook is notified whenever you visit one of the more than one million sites on the web that use Facebook Connect and has a history of leaking personally identifiable information to third parties. Facebook Disconnect blocks all traffic from third-party sites to Facebook servers, but still lets you access Facebook itself.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: